Reviews and Feedback

Reviews and Feedback

Please leave us a review/feedback or any suggestions that you may have about the Snowshepherd web site, the range we offer, we welcome any and all feedback from our customers so that we can improve our service. Please remember to leave your name and contact email address if you want a reply from this page.
Sign in and add entry    Register now
Only registered users may write entries.
Johannes Petersen
17/02/2017 20:21
Review of Leather Ski Work Glove ("Le Glove"). I bought a pair of these gloves at the start of this winter season. Excellent service from the team at Snowshepherd - quick delivery, etc. The quality of the gloves is fantastic - easily dextrous enough for climbing ropework, fiddling carabiners, racking up, etc. Nice and warm even when wet, and the fleecy lining is excellent. You can even get your fingers back inside when wet! So happy I bought a second pair to see me as my spare pair. For £29 you can't beat these- highly recommended
Max Berman
06/02/2017 14:12
Just a quick write up on the Pro Mittens. Just returned from Val Thorens. Only needed hand warmers added when it dropped to -18C. Fit y hands really well as I generally find the thumbs on mitts way too long. No wear to fingers after a week of hands-down carving. I go through gloves like paper plates and these look like they might last me a while! Great stuff!
Donovan Davidson
23/01/2017 08:10
Found Snow Shepherd on Google. Best decision made sent the order in and
it arrived in less than 24 hours
Right size -fits well very warm and will be trying it out in France in Feb.
Great service -reccomended to other
dmitriy pigidin
28/07/2016 14:37
Good afternoon, interested Ortovox ABS MASS UNITA, whether you are sending to Russia and how much will it cost? Thank you.
Michael Swan
03/03/2016 18:07
I bought the snow shepeard yellow work gloves at the ski and snowboard show in London back in 2015, I was nervous at the time mainly for how affordable they were but I have been absolutely outstanded by how genuinely awesome these gloves are. No wonder you always see lift operators and patrol wearing them, so much better than any mainstream brands. The gloves are also incredibly hard wearing and warm, I have been skiing the whole season this year and at no point have they let me down!
Thanks to Tim Shepeard who sold them to me, these are my best outerwear purchase for my skiing I have ever made. Will definitely keep buying these.

10/10 buy a pair!
Chris Austin
09/10/2014 16:14
Absolutely brilliant service, great communication with regard to process of the order.

Items arrived within 24 hours of ordering, at the best price I could find for them.

Smashing job! Will definitely be using snowshepherd again!

Chris
Stephen Hawkins
15/02/2014 09:06
Review of the Kinco 101HK Leather Ski Gloves

For the last 3 seasons I have worn the Kinco Leather Ski Gloves. They have been hard wearing, warm and great for skiing in. My Hestra and Dakine gloves, I don't even bother bringing on trips now.

The only slight negative for me with them was they can be a little too warm in the spring and the elasticated wrist means I have to put them inside my jacket and do up the Velcro on the wrist each time, so gloves on and off is not a fast operation, especially as I use Leki S series poles so have the wrist adapters to carry the little loop

Anyway the 101HK looked like it may be the perfect answer, less thick, more breathable backs and open wrists and indeed this proved to be true. In fact this is the perfect day to day ski glove

When I got them was amazed how soft the goat leather felt, much less industrial that the full leather ski glove and much softer. very nice fit on the hand with the fingers not being to long or short for me. Extremely comfy and flexible when brand new

Now I coat all my gloves in a thick layer of Grangers glove balm (like dubbin). Apart from darkening the glove, this makes it MUCH softer, more supple and water resistant

The short open wrist means this gloves is extremely quick and easy to pull off and on, in fact with the leki's I just leave the glove attached to the pole when I go for the Piste map etc. The cuff is the perfect length and goes over my jacket easily and leaves no gap. No drafts. Lining does NOT invert nor stick to fingers

I also noticed that when at speed (GPS said 40mph) there is a very slight airflow through the backs. Not cold and actually pleasant. At no point last week did my hands get sweaty or stick to the lining. This is an improvement to the full leather glove that can get too warm. We had a bluebird day of +6 degrees in fresh powder. I was very hot and had to remove several clothing layers, but hands stayed dry.

We also had a day of heavy snowfall, which was very wet at lower altitudes. Googles just filled with water and misted, everything was wet. Many of our party got cold hands as their normal ski gloves acted like sponges. The 101HK outer leather did wet (in fact it felt like chamois leather), but the Grangers did its stuff and NO water penetrated the glove and my hands stayed warm and dry. In fact the gloves dried out overnight easily (I have my own electrical boot heaters and once they are in I stick my gloves in the tops of the boots so the hot air rises through them) Gloves were back to normal next day

Highly recommended, the combination of the 101HK for normal days skiing and the Full leather Kinco's for those extreme cold days is a great one, but don't forget your Grangers Glove balm

Stephen
Stephen Hawkins
19/01/2014 12:55
Review of the Kinco Pro 2051 cold weather glove

About Me. Keen Skier and bike rider, MTB and Road. Owner of 2 pairs of Kinco leather Ski gloves which I have worn for 2 seasons on and off piste, and as winch gloves when offroading the landrover and for welding

Gloves are size Large

Fist impressions . Military tough looking. Nice and subtle compared to the yellow beasties. Kinco branding and white stiching plus red 2051 logo are visible but restrained. I like the look

Very easy to pull on thanks to soft cuff and pull loop. They are quite stretchy. Very soft feel inside with no noticeable seams or rub points. Wrist closure can be done up snugly, but also can be fixed down while still at biggest opening (how I shall use them) so it wont flap but still doesn't restrict access.

Finger length is spot on, not too long and not too short. Fingers ends are squared so roomy. no pressure on nails or finger ends while in use like other brands. The backs are soft and the palm covering flexible but looks durable, it is cut out at the internal flex points so first impressions are easy to move fingers. These needed 10 mins to break in rather than the several days of the yellow leather ones

I went out for a road cycle for 3 hours this morning. It wasn't wet so I wasn't able to test the waterproofing, but it was 6C so pretty cold. I am a Castelli fan and I would normally have used the Rosso Corsa gloves today, it not being cold enough for the Extremos. The gloves were an easy and comfortable fit on the handlebars. They flex well and did not restrict grip of the levers in either hood or dip position. At first the back of the first 2 fingers stood a little proud and caught the back of the Sram Red levers when you put fingers on bars under the levers, but this was cos they were new, they flattened after 10 mins and this wasn't an issue afterwards.

In fact they were very comfy indeed. They don't have bike specific padding but what they do have is just right and I had no issues. there is a small radial nerve pad which did its job. Warmth wise they were nice and toasty for today. In fact probably a little too warm. I would say warmth wise they sit between the Rosso and Extremo Castelli gloves. These would be great around freezing. They are not as warm (or as thick) as the yellow leather gloves.

Breathing wise they seem good. Hands got a little sweaty when I was pushing on in latter part of ride, probably not as good a breather as the leather gloves, but these are waterproof and have a membrane whereas the yellow leather ones don't. But these are lovely and thin and flexible compared to the leather gloves. Lining is stitched in and didn't invert when removing hands even when sweaty

In short these are an excellent cold weather and I would imagine wet weather glove. Those who don't feel the cold like me will find these very warm on days above freezing. Those that suffer from cold hands will love them for much of the non summer season. Despite the insulation they are thin and flexible and very comfortable. I can see these getting a lot of time on the road bike, even more on the mountain bike

I'm off in 2 weeks time for skiing they will be coming along for that as although I love the yellow leather ones, they are often 2 warm and a bit thick. These will be perfect ski gloves especially in spring/wet conditions and wont need the ton of Grangers glove balm that the old ones need to stay dry and soft. I will report how they do

Recommended

Stephen
JAMES HENDERSON
14/02/2013 12:55
If you are considering buying an airbag system, do it from Snowshepherd.

Knowledge and advice both pre- and post- purchase second to none, and invaluable with advice re airlines/USA regulations etc, as well as exchange of cannisters.

Keep p the good work Tim,

best wishes

James Henderson

Jamie Sala Scott
09/12/2012 21:02
Hi Tim,

Just wanted to get in touch and thank you for the excellent service you provided me. For those reading this, I called Tim asking him how quickly could he deliver the kit I was after as I needed it within 3/4 days at the latest... it all arrived within 24 hours of me placing the order, all of which he arranged from Tignes!

Thanks again, the kit is perfect and you were a pleasure to deal with.
No doubt I'll be back.
Jamie Scott
1 - 10 of 11 results